State Scholars

Nearly 70 D228 students named Illinois State Scholars

Bremen High School District 228 has a total of 69 students that were recognized as Illinois State Scholars! The 2023-2024 State Scholars are the best and the brightest of Illinois high school seniors in the Class of 2023.

This year’s Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 676 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

The recipients are:

Bremen High School - Elalia Miller, Gabriel Bennett, Brielle Gallo, Matthew MacLaren, Gerardo Mondragon, Reham Uda, Celeste Cisneros, Leonardo Martinez, Amanda Mendoza, Victoria Pinto, Noe Rangel.

Hillcrest High School - Layla Alexander, Jerimiah Hall, Aavion Viverette, Johnna Ferris Goins, Tomiwa Adegbite, Kennedy Whitlow.

Tinley Park High School -  Carl E Assmus, Johnny F Berry, Amaan I Choughale, Adrian C Flecker, Gerges S Ibrahim, Alexander C James, Joann Johnson, Joel Lopez, Magnum L McManigal, Michael T Morrell, Jacob E Moslander, Marwa Naji, Cade E Pequette, Camden M Pequette, Alexandra B Raloff, Julian Rosiles, Ayah B Roussi, Chloe C Shapkauski, Sophia R Vodnik, Hannah E Wollschlager, Charles S Wyllie. 

Oak Forest High School - Sidney Barrett, Kevin Beall, Serenity Berrios, Emilia Borovic, Tyler Burns, Joseph Castaneda, Jillian Colangelo, Anna Dobrzyn, Addison Fitzgerald, Reagan Gallagher, Jessica Gron, Isabella Hernandez, Abbie Kruis, Madison Levsay, Katherine Lis, Sarah Martin, Mia Misuraca, Najwa Mizyed, Morgan Nielsen, Kean Perez, Alyssa Phillips, Karla Pintor, Nolan Price, Omar Qubtan, Lizeth Salgado, Emma Schifferl, Joshua Slaviero, Marielle Sweeney, Elijah-Ed Umadhay, Adam Wiseman and Matthew Zozobrado.

“On behalf of ISAC, congratulations to all of the Illinois State Scholars for their hard work and commitment inside and outside of the classroom,” said ISAC Executive Director Eric Zarnikow. “In the past two years students and families have faced unprecedented difficulties as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic; from financial and personal ordeals to all of the challenges of remote learning. The achievements of these students are a credit to their perseverance and resilience, and to the support and encouragement of their families, principals, teachers, mentors, counselors, and others invested in their growth and success.”  

While the Illinois State Scholars recognition is a non-monetary award, recipients receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC and a personalized Certificate of Achievement!